RESULTS OF INTER-SCHOOL MATHEMATICAL COMPETITION 1981

The Inter-School Mathematical Competition 1981 organized jointly by the Department of Mathematics, National University of Singapore and the Society was held on 4 July 1981. A total of 127 students from 23 junior colleges and secondary schools participated. The results are as follows:

Team Results

Team Members

Rajesh Ramchand Parwani

Ling San

Lee Seng Hwang Loh Wing Wah

Phoon Kok Kwang Chan Yuen Chuen

Ang Kian Seng Kuan Dah Fong Tay Ying Sung

Chan Wing Chong Lam Chih Tsung Ramah Sutardia

Position

2

3

P

School Hwa Chong Junior College

Raffles Institution

Temasek Junior College

Hwa Chong Junior College

Individual Results

osition	Competitor	School
1	Ling San Schell to notasimed brink	Hwa Chong Junior College
2	Rajesh Ramchand Parwani	Raffles Institution
3	David Ling Leong Hui	National Junior College
4	Lam Chih Tsung	Hwa Chong Junior College
5	Ang Kian Seng	Temasek Junior College

The Singapore Mathematical Society Challenge Shield was awarded to Hwa Chong Junior College. Each member of the above four winning teams received a book voucher.

Ling San received the Southeast Asian Mathematical Society Prize of \$250. Rajesh Ramchand Parwani received \$150, and David Ling Leong Hui, Lam Chih Tsung and Ang Kian Seng received \$125, \$100 and \$75 respectively. Each of these successful competitors also received a book voucher.

The Prize-giving Ceremony took place on 1 September 1981. Professor David Goldschmidt of University of California, Berkeley and National University of Singapore gave away the prizes.



The Winning Team. (Photograph by kind permission of Nanyang Siang Pau)

National Junior College Hwa Chong Junior College Tamasek Junior College

The Singapore Mathematical Society Challenge Shield was awarded to Hwo Chong Junior College. Each member of the above four winning teams received a book voucher.

Ling San received the Southeast Asian Mathematical Society, Prize of \$250, Rajesh Ramchand Farwani received \$150, and David Ling Leong Hui, Lam Chih Tsung and Ang Kian Seng received \$125, \$100 and \$75 respectively. Each of these successful competitors also received a book voucher.

The Prize-giving Ceremony took place on 1 September 1981, Professor David Goldschmidt of University of California, Barkeley and National University of Singapore gave away the prizes.